Before Independence				
				D (
Independence	Independence	Independence	Independence	
				Independence

1934	
1944	
1944	
1945	

M. Visvesvaraiya
Planned economy for India

Maximum utilization of minimum resources

Sri Mannaarayan

Bombay Plan

Gandhian Plan

Mr. MN Rai

Peoples Plan

After
Independence

1947	Planning Committee
	Sarvodaya Plan
1950	Jai Prakash Narayan
1950	Planning Commission
1951	First 5 Year Plan
1952	National Development Council

PLANNING	TIME PERIOD	Main aim and priority
1ST FIVE YEAR PLAN	1951-1956	Development of agriculture, irrigation and power
2nd FIVE YEAR PLAN	1956-1961	Development of basic and heavy industry and faster industrialisation
3rd FIVE YEAR PLAN	l 1961-1966	Establishment of self-sufficient and self sustaining economy along with self reliance in food grains, integrated Development of agriculture and industries.
PLANNING HOLIDAY	1966-1969	Solution to the problem of food scarcity green revolution
4th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1969-1974	Growth with stability and attainment of self reliance
5th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1974-1978	Poverty alleviation and self reliance
ROLLING PLAN	1978-1980	Integration of production with employment.

PLANNING	TIME PERIOD	MAIN AIM AND PRIORITY
6 th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1980-1985	EXTENSION OF EMPLOYMENT IN AGRICULTURE AND ALLIED SECTORS, CURBING POPULATION GROWTH.
7th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1985-1990	ESTABLISHMENT OF FREE AND SELF SUFFICIENT ECONOMY, STRESS ON MODERNISATION AND ERADICATION OF POVERTY AND UNEMPLOYMENT.
	(1990-92	PLANNING GAP)
8th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1992-1997	HUMAN RESOURCE DEVP. EMPLOYMENT CREATION, FASTER GROWTH IN EXPORTS
9th FIVE YEAR PLAN	1997-2002	GOWTH WITH JUST AND EQUITABLE DEVELOPMENT
10th FIVE YEAR PLAN	2002-2007	ENSURING EQUALITY, SOCIAL JUSTICE AND DEVELOPMENT.
11th FIVE YEAR PLAN	2007-2012	INCLUSIVE GROWTH

12TH FIVE YEAR PLAN (2012 To 2017)

Tagline- Faster, sustainable and more inclusive growth.

12TH Five year plan focuses mainly on Infrastructure.

Infrastructure will be completed in India through PPP model.



AFTER 12TH FIVE YEAR PLAN

- NITI AAYOG to replace 5 year plans with 15 year vision document(2030)-come into effect 2017-18.
- 7 year National Development Agenda (It will lay down the scheme, programmes and strategies to achieve the long term vision).
- 1 April 2017- 3 year action plan (Strategic paper).



Members

The NITI Aayog comprises the following: .

A Governing Council composed of Chief Ministers of all the States and Union territories with Legislatures and lieutenant governors of Union Territories (except Delhi and Puducherry).

Regional Councils composed of Chief Ministers of States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories in the region to address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region.

Full-time organizational framework composed of a Vice-Chairperson, four full-time members, two part-time members (from leading universities, research organizations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity), four ex-officio members of the Union Council of Ministers, a Chief Executive Officer (with the rank of Secretary to the Government of India) who looks after administration, and a secretariat.

Experts and specialists in various fields.

Members

With the Prime Minister as the Chairperson, presently NITI Aayog consists of:

- Vice Chairperson: Suman Bery.
- Ex-Officio Members: Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitaraman and Narendra Singh Tomar.
- Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal, Virendra Kumar, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Rao Inderjit Singh.
- Full-time Members: V. K. Saraswat (former DRDO Chief), Ramesh Chand (Agriculture Expert)[19] and V. K. Paul (Public Health expert), Arvind Virmani (Economist).
- Chief Executive Officer (CEO): B. V. R. Subrahmanyam
- Governing Council: All Chief Ministers of States (except Delhi and
- Puducherry), Lieutenant Governor of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, and special invites.

PARAMETER	NITI AAYOG	PLANNING COMMISSION
Financial Clout	It is an advisory body or a think-tank. The powers to allocate funds is vested in the finance ministry	It has the powers to allocate funds to ministries and state governments
Full-time Members	The number of full-time members could be fewer than Planning Commission	The last Commission had eight full-time members
States' Role	State Governments play a more significant role than they did in the Planning Commission	States'Role was limited to the National Development Council and annual interaction during Plan meetings
Member Secretary	Is known as the CEO and is appointed by the Prime Minister	Secretaries or member secretaries were appointment through the usual process
Part-time Members	It has a number of part-time members, depending on the need from time to time	Full Planning Commission had no provision for part-time members

PARAMETER