

MAKING OF THE INDIAN CONSTITUTION

POLITY

BY AYAN MAHENDRAS ((•)) OIVI 06:15 PM

MAKING OF INDLAN CONSTITUTION

INDIAN CONSTITUTION -

- It is the foundation law of any country, which lays down the principles and framework upon which the State is based.
- It is the supreme law book of the country.
- Constitutions are classified as a Written Constitution (E.g. Indian Constitution) (b) Unwritten Constitution (E.g. British Constitution). The Indian Constitution is the lengthiest written Constitution.



COMPOSITION OF COSTITUENT ASSEMBLY-

- Total strength of the assembly was 389, of this, 296 were elected to represent British India.
- Remaining 93 seats were for the Princely states. These 93 seats allotted to princely states remained empty as they decided to stay away from the assembly.
- Seats in each province were distributed among three main communities - Muslims, Sikhs and General in proportion to their population.

Constituent Assembly held its first meeting on 9 December, 1946.

- Dr. Sachchidananda Sinha, the senior most member of the assembly was elected the President, on 9 December.
- while later on 11 December, Dr. Rajendra Prasad and H.C. Mookerjee were elected the President and Vice President of the assembly respectively.

- J.L. Nehru on 13 December, 1946 moved the Objective Resolution. It unanimously got accepted on 22 January, 1947. This resolution later got placed in the Constitution as the Preamble.
- B.N. Rao was appointed as the Constitutional adviser of the Assembly.
- It took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days to make the Constitution. (11 session)
- The Constituent Assembly had 13 committees for framing the Constitution.

The important ones were:-

- Union Powers Committee -J.L. Nehru
- States Committee- J.L. Nehru
- Union Constitution Committee- J.L. Nehru
- Drafting Committee- B.R. Ambedkar
- Provincial Constitution Committee- Sardar V.B. Patel
- Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights- Sardar V B. Patel
- Steering Committee- Dr Rajendra Prasad
- Finance and Staff Committee- Dr Rajendra Prasad

 The date of 26 January was chosen to commemorate the Poorna Swaraj declaration of independence in 1930 (Poorna Swaraj declaration was passed in 1929 in Lahore session of INC). The constitution of India was framed by the constituent Assembly under:

- a) August Offer of 1940
 - b) Cripps proposal of 1942
 - c) The Cabinet mission Plan of 1946
 - d) The Shimla Conference of 1945

- The idea of a Constituent Assembly was put forward for the first time by:
- a) M.N. Roy
 - b) Dr. B. R. Ambedhkar
 - c) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
 - d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

- Who among the following was the Constitutional Advisor of the Constituent Assembly?
- a) Dr. B.R. Ambedhkar
 b) K.M. Munshi
 c) Sir B.N. Rau
 d) Jawaharlal Nehru

- Who moved the 'Objective Resolution' in the Assembly On December 13, 1846?
- a) Dr. B.R. Ambedhkar
 b) Jawaharlal Nehru
 c) M.N. Roy
 d) K.M. Munshi

- Who was the Chairman of the Drafting Committee of the Constitution?
- a) Jawaharlal Nehru
 b) Dr. B.R. Ambedhkar
 c) Subhash Chandra Bose
 d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

THANK YOU